Sign In Forgot Password

Russian Jewish History (Thursdays)

Upcoming Sessions

1. Thursday, February 22, 2024 13 Adar I 5784

12:00 PM - 1:00 PMon Zoom

2. Thursday, March 7, 2024 27 Adar I 5784

12:00 PM - 1:00 PMon Zoom

3. Thursday, March 14, 2024 4 Adar II 5784

12:00 PM - 1:00 PMon Zoom
Past Sessions
Thursday, February 1, 2024 22 Shevat 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, January 18, 2024 8 Shevat 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, January 11, 2024 1 Shevat 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, December 14, 2023 2 Tevet 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, December 7, 2023 24 Kislev 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, November 30, 2023 17 Kislev 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, November 9, 2023 25 Cheshvan 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, October 26, 2023 11 Cheshvan 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom
Thursday, October 19, 2023 4 Cheshvan 5784 - 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM - on Zoom

For more than a century, the Russian Empire contained the largest Jewish community in the world. Today, while remaining the third largest Jewish community, the number of Jews is a mere 10% of what it was at the end of the 19th century.

In this survey course, we will trace the historical experience of Jews in Russia, with its dizzying reversals over the course of more than 150 years, highlighting the hopes, triumphs, and agonies of Russian Jewish life and the journey of Jewish identity accompanying those experiences.

Join Cantor Levine as he explores the question as to whether there are lessons for American and diaspora Jewish life to be learned from the transformation of Soviet Jewish identity during those years.

(note: the Thursday class is a repeat lecture from the Sunday class)
Thursday classes Zoom link:  https://brithshalom-org.zoom.us/j/89059526503
For password information, refer to the CBS Wednesday Newsletter or email Karen Ross, Marketing Specialist at media@brithshalom.org  

Click here for weekly course materials. (If possible, please print these out in advance of each class).

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, February 21 2024 12 Adar I 5784