Sign In Forgot Password

Russian Jewish History (Sundays)

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, March 3, 2024 23 Adar I 5784

11:00 AM - 12:00 PMin person at Brith Shalom

2. Sunday, March 10, 2024 30 Adar I 5784

11:00 AM - 12:00 PMin person at Brith Shalom
Past Sessions
Sunday, February 18, 2024 9 Adar I 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, January 28, 2024 18 Shevat 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, January 14, 2024 4 Shevat 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, January 7, 2024 26 Tevet 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, December 10, 2023 27 Kislev 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, December 3, 2023 20 Kislev 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, November 19, 2023 6 Kislev 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, November 12, 2023 28 Cheshvan 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, November 5, 2023 21 Cheshvan 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, October 22, 2023 7 Cheshvan 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom
Sunday, October 15, 2023 30 Tishrei 5784 - 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM - in person at Brith Shalom

For more than a century, the Russian Empire contained the largest Jewish community in the world. Today, while remaining the third largest Jewish community, the number of Jews is a mere 10% of what it was at the end of the 19th century.

In this survey course, we will trace the historical experience of Jews in Russia, with its dizzying reversals over the course of more than 150 years, highlighting the hopes, triumphs, and agonies of Russian Jewish life and the journey of Jewish identity accompanying those experiences.

Join Cantor Levine as he explores the question as to whether there are lessons for American and diaspora Jewish life to be learned from the transformation of Soviet Jewish identity during those years.

Click here for weekly course materials. (If possible, please print these out in advance of each class).

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, February 21 2024 12 Adar I 5784